History of SRTS in La Crosse County Started in 2007 with just three schools, the La Crosse County Safe Routes to School program has expanded to include twelve local elementary schools. Coordinated by the La Crosse County Health Department, our program focuses on offering schools resources and program assistance to make walking and biking to school safe and enjoyable for Coulee Region children and youth. Contact us if you are interested in organizing any of these activities at your school!

  • Walking School Bus
  • Walk to School Day
  • Coulee Region Walk to School Challenge
  • Frequent Walker/Rider Promotions
  • Winter Walk to School Day
  • Bicycle Train
  • Bicycle Rodeo or other bike safety education events
  • Bike Helmet Demonstration
  • Bike or Wheel to School Day
  • Wheel to School Week

For more information on program and school activities click on the community names below. Participating Communites

  • City of La Crosse
  • City of Onalaska
  • Village of West Salem
  • Village of Holmen